Post AnniverSaturDate At Hampton Gardens

Last Saturday, June 18, 2016, Ino and I celebrated our post anniversary date at The Hampton Gardens. We were supposed to celebrate at the same place on our 7th year anniversary. However, I got terribly sick on the day of our date so we decided to just postpone it.

We left Citihomes around 3:30 PM to 4 PM and arrived in THG at around 4:30 PM. We just dropped our things at Lawrence’s unit and we headed to the swimming pool. We swam for about 30-45 minutes and decided to grab a bite nearby THG.

There were a couple of places that Ino was raving about. First was the burger place and the second was the very affordable Tapsihan, Tapsi Sa Palatiw, near Stella Maris Pasig.

We headed to the burger place first because we were supposed to have burgers and shakes for snacks. However, it was still closed when we dropped by. Closed at 5 PM? Hahaha.. Pretty weird, right? Ino said that the burger place usually opens around 6 PM and closes at 2-3 PM.  So, since it is still closed, we just went to the other place that he was raving about.

TAPSI SA PALATIW

DSC00328DSC00329DSC00330DSC00331DSC00332DSC00334DSC00335DSC00336DSC00337DSC00338DSC00339DSC00340DSC00341DSC00342

 

I let him choose the kind of Tapsi that he wants to order since he recommended the place. It was my first time to go there so I really didn’t know what to expect. I’ve eaten at several Tapsihans and Tapsi sa Palatiw’s Tapsilog was just right for me. For a very affordable price, the Tapsi was not a miss but it wasn’t as stellar as Tapa King’s.  It was actually a hit for me because it is a go-to-place if you are looking for a budget friendly dine in experience.

Aside from the Tapsi, we also ordered a couple of barbecue sticks. It would have been better if they reheated it. The meat was already quite cold and difficult to chew so I wasn’t able to enjoy it as much.

The Tapsilog costs P31 pesos per meal and the barbecue costs around P10 to P12 per stick.

The dining experience was comfortable. The place was spacious. Not many people dined in when we went there but that’s because it’s a Saturday and it’s not really the high time for people to eat dinner or eat rice and a viand for snacks.

I will still go back and try their chicken meal if I were given a chance. For a cost effective experience, I would rate this affordable restaurant a 3.

Tapsi sa Palatiw is located at Stella Maris Ave, Pasig, 1607 Metro Manila.


 

Off to our next stop, Ino chose another place for desserts.

 

LAWSON

DSC00343DSC00344DSC00345DSC00346DSC00347DSC00348DSC00349DSC00350DSC00351DSC00352DSC00353DSC00354

 

 

For P25, I get to Swirl to The Max!!!

It isn’t obvious that it was my first time to ever go to Lawson. 🙂

It was actually not my first time because Ino and I had tried it before at Legarda, Manila a few months ago. But let me just enjoy this post because it is worth writing. 🙂

I’ve tried several ice creams from different marts like 7-Eleven, Ministop, Family Mart, and Circle K. I’d definitely choose Circle K’s vanilla ice cream over Family Mart’s.

My curiosity started when I’ve read about Lawson’s Charcoal Ice Cream from Mati Serrano‘s blog and DomesticUrbanite‘s blog. Both of them are foodies or food enthusiasts and reading about their recipes and food trips from time to time helped me discover new places and new dishes to try. Reading their blog posts about Lawson’s Charcoal Ice Cream made me think that it must be something that I, myself, should try.

At the same time, my resident bully and fiance, told me that he has already tried the Charcoal Ice Cream before which made me green with envy. I was very curious at that time but I don’t know where Lawson is in Ortigas.

So, here I am. Looking like a first timer because I really am. 🙂

The Charcoal Ice Cream experience was delightful! It was fun to eat although it messed my teeth (which Ino made fun of) because of the charcoal. For P25, it wasn’t that bad. It is now my 2nd favorite next to Circle K’s.

Looking at Lawson’s selection, I can say that they have more stocks than 7-Eleven and sometimes Mercury Drug. They offer different kinds of stuff from toiletries to different instant food. I was actually amazed with the toiletries because there’s a lot to choose from.

I had to compare because I’ve been waiting for Ino at 7-Eleven for almost half the year after I tired myself out from hanging out at Mc Donald’s several months ago. It was something that I have to write about since that habit will eventually end by the end of June. Hopefully.

So, going back to the Charcoal Ice Cream experience, I would say that I’d like to give it a 4 for trying. It was definitely something new and something refreshing to try on a hot summer or rainy day. 🙂


Moreover…

We went to ELITE NAILS HAND, FOOT AND BODY SPA after taking a rest at THG.

 

DSC00356DSC00357DSC00358DSC00359DSC00360

DSC00361

Excuse my manas or swollen feet I’m not preggers, I’m just fat.

 

I think Ino reads my posts and take my Sunday Currentlies to heart. I remember one Sunday Currently post where I’ve written something about needing some pampering. I think he didn’t miss that post because he treated me to a nail care experience at the Elite Nails Spa on our post Saturdate Anniversary celebration.

We inquired about their nail services first before we decided to book a pedi session before we went to Tapsi sa Palatiw and Lawson. My usual dilemma in inquiring about a product or a service to a clerk or a sales representative is their ability to explain the product or service that they are selling and how knowledgeable they are in what their products or services are.

I was pretty satisfied with Elite Nails’s attendant because he was able to explain the differences of the services that they offer. It was clear and what I just needed to hear, so as a result, I was able to choose right away on which service I’m going to avail.

Ater taking a rest at the Hampton, we headed to Elite Nails for a Luxurious Dead Sea Salt Pedicure.

We waited for almost half an hour but that’s okay because the place was well air conditioned and had a relaxing vibe. The attendant and the staff were friendly and very accommodating. ‘Though they have a separate staff assigned for the Foot Spa and another for the Pedicure, it’s okay. I don’t have any qualms on it.

The Luxurious Dead Sea Salt Pedicure costs around P390. I had an additional OPI Nail Polish worth P50 to P60 because the staff said it lasts two weeks longer than an ordinary nail polish so I gave it a go.

It was actually worth it. The foot spa was good because the staff really tried to scrape off my dry skin and callouses. She was very hardworking and was very friendly too. I admit that her job was very difficult and given that it’s almost dinner time, I give props to her good service because she didn’t hastily do her job. I felt that I’m getting the service that is worth what I’m paying for so I didn’t regret giving her a tip.

The pedicure, which I was expecting to be painful was very painless. The staff who attended to me was very careful and checks on my reaction from time to time. It was not painful so it was okay. She also followed my request about not using a nail file because I hate the feeling of it scratching my nails. I also gave her a tip for taking care of my nails.

I would definitely go back to this branch if I will be given a chance. I’d also choose the same staff, if only I could remember their names. 🙂 I think I can still remember how they looked like. 🙂 I give this branch a 3.75 for a quite excellent service.

This branch that I have visited was just outside the Hampton Gardens. It’s located at Dr. Sixto Antonio Avenue, Pasig, 1607 Metro Manila. You can also check their menu on their website.


Finally, after everything that transpired on that day, we chanced upon the burger place that I was writing about earlier.

It’s already open!!

TAPSIHAN SA MAYBUNGA

 

 

DSC00372DSC00373DSC00374DSC00375DSC00376DSC00377DSC00378DSC00379DSC00380DSC00381DSC00384DSC00385DSC00386DSC00387DSC00388DSC00389DSC00390DSC00391DSC00392

When I said burger place, I was actually referring to Tapsihan Sa Maybunga. This is the place that Ino was telling me about. He was actually raving about the huge burger that they are offering.

He was telling me about the ingredients of each burger. It was quite a mouthful. Each burger is offering a Quarter Pounder. 🙂 Some of the burgers have SPAM, bacon, sunny side up fried eggs, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, jalapeno, onions, special butter sauce, etc.

My choice was the Butter Beater and it didn’t disappoint. I was also leaning towards Big Max since I’m not into different kinds of meat in one burger. Ino likes Rise N Shine but I find it quite greasy and too much. Although it is not that bad because it is really worth your money thanks to their generous serving. 🙂

I didn’t choose Level Up, Fast Break and Firehouse because of the SPAM, bacon, eggs, and jalapeno. It’s just me. I just don’t enjoy too much food in one bite. I guess it’s delicious too but I think I might try it out if Butter Beater or Big Max are not available. Haha!

Oh! We also bought a Choco Chip Shake! It was good but I wish I ordered Mocha Frappe instead. I was supposed to order Mocha Frappe but Ino said he has already tried it. I wanted him to try out a different flavor too but unfortunately, he chose the same flavor he had last time. It was quite a let down. But I will definitely try their Mocha Frappe next time! 🙂

The shakes are pretty average for me. I think it is not really worth P75. I think they could have served it for around P60 to P65 instead. The presentation and the taste wasn’t that rad for P75. I wish they could level it up by adding something more to their “plating” or to their unique taste.

With how Ino hyped the burger and the shakes, it really got me expecting something out of everything. I was expecting something worth writing about and not just an Instagram moment. I was expecting a memorable taste out of it. Something that could linger and make me want to come back even if it’s quite far from where I am from.

I guess, it’s just me and my expectations. The burger was great. The presentation and plating was surprising. The knife on the burger was liberating. The plastic gloves was a unique suggestion on how to eat the burger. It gave a subtle hint about a no poise moment. It was fun and entertaining. I enjoyed it!

I will give this restaurant a 3.5 for the effort and for the hype. 🙂

I also liked the way the servers feel like family. It’s really hard to tell whether they are just staffs or family members helping each other out in their family business. It’s a Saturday anyway, and it somehow made me feel nostalgic.

I used to dream about my own clan owning a restaurant and each one of us helping out in any way we can. I know that it’s impossible right now but it could have been a good business venture for each of us.

Anyway, I was able to enjoy the food and the drink. It was a treat! So yeah, I really enjoyed everything. I’m still looking forward to visiting Tapishan sa Maybunga because I might just really have high hopes for everything products and services related. This is how I am most especially when I am paying or someone is treating me for a food experience.

Having said that, this is not a paid advertisement and I’m blogging about it to share my own experiences. Also, I’m blogging about my thoughts so that one’s service or products will continuously improve and provide satisfaction to their customers.

Tapsihan sa Maybunga is near Hampton Gardens. It is located at 416, Dr. Sixto Ave., Pasig, Metro Manila.

Leave a Reply

