World Street Food Congress 2016

Ino and I celebrated our 83rd Monthsarry at the World Street Food Congress 2016 at BGC, Taguig.

I am clueless about what the event would be like. First, I thought that the food congress, having the word “World” in the title would suggest that we’d get to eat different kinds of food all over the world. I was excited with the idea that I will be able to try some Korean street foods but lo and behold, there wasn’t any Korean food on that day.

Second, I didn’t have any idea on what the congress would be like. I imagined that it would be located indoors and that it would be inside a mall or a building or something. Surprise, surprise!! It was an outdoor event.

Well, that’s what you get from not reading anything or making a research about where you’re going ahead of time. In my defense, Ino just told me that we’re going to this place a few days before the event and I’m not exactly sure about what to expect. I guess, I wasn’t really paying attention when he was telling me about it.

It was already afternoon when we arrived. We walked from Market! Market! to McKinley and we were greeted by the long cue of people. We eventually found our way to the end of the line and after a few minutes were able to get in.

We got a free bottle of Listerine when we arrived. Then I got to take tons of photos using my new Sony camera!! I was very happy that I got to try it for the first time. It really made me feel like a blogger! Hahahaha! :))

So, we took some photos here and there and we looked around for the dishes that they were serving. Unfortunately, there isn’t any Korean stall. 😦 It was such a let down but it was still a good experience.

There were a lot of people in the food congress, there’s always a long cue for each stalls. Some stalls closed early because they were already sold out. The price range for the food costs around P150-250 depending on the kind of food that you are ordering.

We get to taste different variety of dishes from meals to snacks. Unfortunately, the bagoong chicken didn’t make the cut because it didn’t work for us.

Here’s a funny story…

While we were eating our food, there was a band on the stage. Actually they were just an acoustic duo. Upon hearing Silent Sanctuary, I (being the gullible person that I am) thought that it was really Silent Sanctuary singing on the stage. So, I took several photos of them until I realized that they just meant that the previous song that they sang was a cover of Silent Sanctuary’s Sa’yo. I was very embarrassed at that time because I even told Ino that it was SS but it actually wasn’t.

Anyway, we just enjoyed the music because they didn’t invite other guests at that time. I think they were more focused on the food and profit that they haven’t thought of inviting a band. (Even an indie band to perform!!)  It was actually a let down.

The acoustic duo also had a second set, in which the singer were asking the audience for a song request. Ino and I requested for Ripped Jeans / Photograph. The singer/guitarist accommodated our request but it seems that he’s not familiar with the chords and lyrics of the song. So, yeah. Another disappointment.

He also sang Marry Me by Train because Ino requested for it. Again, he wasn’t that familiar with the song again that’s why he had a hard time. But since we just enjoyed the event, it was still a good experience for us.

Here are some of the photos that I took using my new Sony Camera:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

