Komikon 2016

20160416_15573420160416_15560120160416_15555420160416_15554120160416_15551120160416_15502120160416_15501720160416_15500620160416_15495520160416_15494120160416_15493820160416_15493420160416_15492920160416_15460020160416_15455720160416_15455220160416_15434320160416_15425320160416_15423820160416_15423120160416_15422620160416_15420420160416_15413720160416_15403620160416_154033100_1336100_1334100_1333100_1332100_1329

(This entry was first seen on http://www.cheskinita.com)

More than a month has passed since we went to Komikon 2016 at Bayanihan Center.

Ino and I were very excited to go to Komiket and Komikon. We were so excited that we missed Komiket 2016 because we thought that it was a two-day event. We went on a Sunday because we had a very tight schedule on Saturday due to the 2016 Bridal Fair at SM Mega Mall. We actually missed the date of the Komiket 2016 even though it was already published on Facebook. When we realized that we just wasted our taxi fare at that time, we decided to just go to SM Mega Mall’s Bridal Fair instead to scout for our wedding rings.

It was such a let down but Ino and I really tried our best to go to Komikon this year. And this time, we really checked the schedule on Facebook. We were wondering why they changed the schedule from a two-day event to a one-day event. However, we didn’t have a chance to ask anymore because the overwhelming feeling of being in a huge crowd got the best of me again.

I’m never a fan of huge crowds. I am not into conventions or cosplay events. I hate crowed places and noise. Certainly, it’s not my cup of tea.

During our first Komiket and Komikon, I really didn’t know what to expect. This is clearly not my scene and I don’t really know what it’s like to be in one. I was actually worried that I won’t like it and enjoy it.

First, because I’m not a comic book fan. I don’t enjoy drawing, painting or sketching or any artistic thing in general. But I just tried to enjoy it because Ino likes this and I also want to be a part of it. It was really a-going-out-of-my-comfort-zone moment.

It was actually interesting to be in a certain strange place. You don’t really know what to expect or what to do, so you can’t set some expectations. The fun thing about it is that you don’t know what’s coming to you and how it would be remarkable in your own opinion. For me, it became a benchmark of what I can expect in the years to come.

Having said that, I realized that I liked it and I enjoyed it because of several reasons:

  • Mr. Lyndon Gregorio!! – I’m a huge fan! My parents used to buy The Philippine Star everyday when I was still in Antipolo. I used to read Beerkada after reading the horoscope in the Entertainment section. :))
  • Comic book geeks! – I remember having a crush to one of the illustrators in Komiket 2015. Haha! Unfortunately he wasn’t around in last year’s Komikon and I can’t remember if we saw him this year.
  • T-shirts! – Oh, I bought three shirts! At that time, all I have in mind is buying shirts than buying comic books because I can use them more often than just reading them.
  • Cheap stickers! – The stickers range from P10 or 20 pesos (depending on the kind of paper that they used), up to P50. I remember buying P200 or P250 worth of stickers for actually thinking that 5 stickers costs P50 only. Crazy, right? But don’t worry because I enjoyed sticking it on my laptop. :)

It also helped me a lot in deciding about what to bring in my next Komiket/Komikon visit. I enjoyed taking photos at that time but as you can see, it is way fewer than before. There are not much duplicate copies anymore. My Kodak camera at that time was pretty small and my phone’s camera wasn’t able to take so much picture because the battery was almost running out.

It actually led me to impulse buy and pre-order a compact camera. :) Yes, this event is the reason why I’m excited to blog again. :) It is because I have a new device that I can use for my future blogging experience. :)

With Ino’s support, I will be able to document more important events. Actually, it is also one of the reasons why I have so much backlogs these days. But It’s fine because it is worth it. :)

More than a month has passed since we went to Komikon 2016 at Bayanihan Center.

Ino and I were very excited to go to Komiket and Komikon. We were so excited that we missed Komiket 2016 because we thought that it was a two-day event. We went on a Sunday because we had a very tight schedule on Saturday due to the 2016 Bridal Fair at SM Mega Mall. We actually missed the date of the Komiket 2016 even though it was already published on Facebook. When we realized that we just wasted our taxi fare at that time, we decided to just go to SM Mega Mall’s Bridal Fair instead to scout for our wedding rings.

It was such a let down but Ino and I really tried our best to go to Komikon this year. And this time, we really checked the schedule on Facebook. We were wondering why they changed the schedule from a two-day event to a one-day event. However, we didn’t have a chance to ask anymore because the overwhelming feeling of being in a huge crowd got the best of me again.

I’m never a fan of huge crowds. I am not into conventions or cosplay events. I hate crowed places and noise. Certainly, it’s not my cup of tea.

During our first Komiket and Komikon, I really didn’t know what to expect. This is clearly not my scene and I don’t really know what it’s like to be in one. I was actually worried that I won’t like it and enjoy it.

First, because I’m not a comic book fan. I don’t enjoy drawing, painting or sketching or any artistic thing in general. But I just tried to enjoy it because Ino likes this and I also want to be a part of it. It was really a-going-out-of-my-comfort-zone moment.

It was actually interesting to be in a certain strange place. You don’t really know what to expect or what to do, so you can’t set some expectations. The fun thing about it is that you don’t know what’s coming to you and how it would be remarkable in your own opinion. For me, it became a benchmark of what I can expect in the years to come.

Having said that, I realized that I liked it and I enjoyed it because of several reasons:

  • Mr. Lyndon Gregorio!! – I’m a huge fan! My parents used to buy The Philippine Star everyday when I was still in Antipolo. I used to read Beerkada after reading the horoscope in the Entertainment section. :))
  • Comic book geeks! – I remember having a crush to one of the illustrators in Komiket 2015. Haha! Unfortunately he wasn’t around in last year’s Komikon and I can’t remember if we saw him this year.
  • T-shirts! – Oh, I bought three shirts! At that time, all I have in mind is buying shirts than buying comic books because I can use them more often than just reading them.
  • Cheap stickers! – The stickers range from P10 or 20 pesos (depending on the kind of paper that they used), up to P50. I remember buying P200 or P250 worth of stickers for actually thinking that 5 stickers costs P50 only. Crazy, right? But don’t worry because I enjoyed sticking it on my laptop. :)

It also helped me a lot in deciding about what to bring in my next Komiket/Komikon visit. I enjoyed taking photos at that time but as you can see, it is way fewer than before. There are not much duplicate copies anymore. My Kodak camera at that time was pretty small and my phone’s camera wasn’t able to take so much picture because the battery was almost running out.

It actually led me to impulse buy and pre-order a compact camera. :) Yes, this event is the reason why I’m excited to blog again. :) It is because I have a new device that I can use for my future blogging experience. :)

With Ino’s support, I will be able to document more important events. Actually, it is also one of the reasons why I have so much backlogs these days. But It’s fine because it is worth it. :)

 

2 thoughts on “Komikon 2016

Leave a Reply

