My 5 Day Vacation

Seollal started last Wednesday, February 18, 2015. Seollal is the Korean term for the Lunar New Year which is celebrated in Korea for three days. Same with the Chinese, where they celebrate the Chinese New Year on February 19. I’m not really sure if they always celebrate it on February 19. So, if you know the exact details about it kindly write it in the comment below.

So, since I am working in a Korean company, we get to take a three-day-vacation plus the weekend which makes it a very long holiday. It was supposed to be a two-day-vacation plus the weekend but the workload in the office has been piling-up that’s why they gave us another day off to make-up for our hardwork.

What transpired over the holiday:

I literally bummed my way to this holiday. I spent my holiday in Ino’s apartment. I started it by preparing his brunch and making him a cup of coffee (these are things that I don’t usually do in a normal day.) He appreciated my hardwork and thanked me for that. I felt happy because he ate the eggs and hotdogs I cooked for him even if the eggs were salty (it’s actually too salty.) The hotdog was okay but the rice didn’t make the cut.

It has been ages since I cooked rice. I did a good job when I tried to cook it for the first time. However, my latest attempt to do it didn’t turn out as I expected. It had too much water in it and it overflowed. My measurement was incorrect. In the end, the rice was cooked but it was soup-like. In fact, it looks like a porridge. I can’t believe it. We still ate it but I was really embarrassed about it.

After having lunch, he went to his office and I spent most of my day watching TV and cooking some Tikoy (ricecake) and some hotdogs.

I also got burnt when I was cooking some tikoy.

I also decided to continue watching “Doctor Stranger.” It is a Korean drama which became popular in China last year. I learnt that when it was featured in the news article in my student’s lesson. I really got very curious about it that’s why I tried to watch it. I tried to watch it with him but we weren’t able to finish all the episodes because we only get to watch it before we hit the sack.

After several months of putting it off, I decided to binge-watch DS because I don’t have anything to do. I was also curious about how the story goes. One of the factors in watching it as well is because my co-worker finished watching it in just two days in the office.

In the end, he joined me in finishing the last 3 episodes as soon as he got home and we slept at around 5 A.M last Friday. His office decided to move their holiday on Friday instead of Thursday that’s why he was able to join me in the binge.

That’s what my Thursday was like.

Friday came like a blast. I woke up in the afternoon because Globe called and informed me that they don’t have a DSL service available. It was actually okay because I turned down the LTE offer last Sunday because it was way too expensive for my budget and that I already had a bad experience with them last week.

I wasn’t able to come to my team leader’s party because of their “scheduled” installation. The agent informed me that it will be installed around 8 A.M up to 12 P.M. I didn’t go to the party because the venue was far and that I might not make it on time for the installation the next day.

Sunday came and I woke up early waiting for their text message. I was hoping that I’d get to receive a notification if they will come within the said “schedule,” however, it was already 6 P.M when their installation team called and informed me that they are on their way.

Coincidentally, I received an e-mail from PLDT in the afternoon and they already sent me an account number and the other instructions on how to pay the installation fee. Aside from the cheap installation fee that I got from the promo, I also noticed that I don’t have to pay a lot for their service. So, I turned Globe’s offer and canceled the application right then and there.

I don’t exactly know if it’s because they are offering an LTE service that’s why I have to pay so much aside from the P1200 installation fee on the day of the installation, but also the activation fee that will be on top of my account that I have to pay in installment for some months. But I can say that that’s one of the reasons why I opted out.

So Friday came, and PLDT sent me a message that they are dropping by to my place to have my DSL line installed. They arrived at 1 P.M. I was actually glad that they came earlier than they promised because I was expecting that they’d come around 6 P.M just like what Globe said before. It made me feel happy.

Now, I can think about homebase jobs and stuff. I can also go online without the hassle of tethering my tablet to my laptop or my phone.

He was not really very happy yesterday. We almost argued about where to place the phone and the modem and the other apparatus. By 6 P.M, we went back to his apartment and had spaghetti with corned beef and hotdogs for dinner. We also watched The Lego Movie, the latest episode of The Big Bang Theory and That Thing Called Tadhana on his new flatscreen TV.

Then it’s Saturday again. We’re back on regular programming. Almost. He cooked, I wash the dishes. We started watching the first few 30 minutes of the Lord of The Rings (the first one, the one with the fellowship something) and then took a bath.

I really suck at watching mainstream movies cause it tends to make me fall asleep in the middle of the movie. I tend to ask questions while watching the movie, which makes him irritated sometimes (because I tend to ask him stuff that he knows and he tries to explain it and that spoils the fun for him.)

We watched “Fated to Love You” this afternoon too. “Fated to Love You” is a Korean drama remake of the Taiwanese drama with the same title. It also became very popular in a local TV network here in the Philippines. However, I got to watch it on a DVD back when I was in college because I rarely watch TV shows from that local TV network.

So, we watched it this afternoon but we stopped on Episode 14 this evening because he wants to watch The Voice Philippines in the local TV network at around 8:30 P.M.

We also ate a lot this afernoon. From pancit canton (noodles) to ube tikoy to pandesal to pinipig ice creams to corned beef and rice. Oh! I cooked rice tonight too!

Then, I decided to write about how productive or unproductive my long holiday is. I’m looking forward to going home and spending my time online tomorrow. I get to spend my Sunday with my mom too but without Kelly because she’s with her parents for this weekend.

I actually had a great time with him this week. Though I realized that he doesn’t seem to show happiness when I have some new stuff. He tends to sulk and act too cold most of the time. I hope that those were just coincidences but it happened several times already. Perhaps, he’s just tired or whatever. Eventually, he becomes okay and that’s what’s important.

I also realized that being a housewife is boring and tiring. I can’t imagine myself as a full-time housewife. Instead, I want to be a working wife. I want to be a working mom. I want to have a part-time job and become a housewife too. I think I can’t handle being a housewife alone. I believe in equality and that’s my realization for this weeks long holiday.

 

Leave a Reply

